This was the time when the phylloxera disease attacked grape vines, and most of them had to be torn up around the town of Tournus. Prominent local personalities and engineers decided to start manufacturing goods made of aluminium and set up the « Manufacture Métallurgique de Tournus » in September 1910. The first building was completed in June 1911. The company employed 40 workmen right from the outset.


Pechiney bought into the capital. A number of innovations and the acquisition of new skills such as stamping and the purchase of new hydraulic presses led to the rapid development of the business. The company now had a payroll of 400 and aluminium had become a symbol of prosperity.


A large number of young people joined the company, bringing new energy to the factory. The « Manufacture Metallurgique de Tournus », now employing over 600 people, was now recognised by all for the quality and durability of its products. Most shipments used the railways and there was a direct branch line into the factory to make loading easier.


A new workshop was built for the « handling » department, which manufactured tanks, des isothermal containers andtrolleys for the food industries, fish trade and catering establishments: this was the beginning of Tournus Equipement. The company started to use stainless steel for its products.


During the eighties « MMT » was taken over by Vivalp, then by Terraillon. In 1991, Tournus Equipement was sold to a shareholder from Lyon, René Aldeguer, also owner of « Morice », the oven manufacturer. Further development of the business was aimed essentially at producing stainless steel equipment for professional kitchens and self-service lines.


The « Caisse des Depots et Consignations » became the majority shareholder of Tournus Equipement. Considerable investments and a succession of new product launches have now earned Tournus Equipement the number 1 position in France for stainless steel professional kitchen equipment and sales counters for sea food products.


Qualium hands Tournus Equipement over to its executives who join forces with MML Capital, UI Gestion and Bpifrance (Banque Publique d’investissement). The executives hold most of the capital. This is the start of a new venture for Tournus Equipement, which will drive the company to strengthen its position as a leading player in France and to expand on the international market.


Tournus Equipement accelerates its growth with the acquisition of the British company CATERING EQUIPMENT DESIGN. CED has a catalogue of products and technical and commercial expertise that is well known in Great Britain in the fast food and takeaway sector and for bespoke countering.

1910

Alors que la crise du phylloxéra a entraîné l’arrachage de la majeure partie du vignoble local, des notables et des ingénieurs créent la Manufacture Métallurgique de Tournus en septembre 1910 pour produire des objets en aluminium. La construction du premier bâtiment est achevée en juin 1911. Dès la première année, l’entreprise emploie 40 ouvriers.

1932

En 1932, Péchiney fait son entrée dans le capital de l’entreprise. Les nombreuses innovations, l’acquisition de nouveaux savoir-faire comme l’emboutissage et l’achat de nouvelles presses hydrauliques permettent de développer rapidement l’activité. L’entreprise emploie 400 personnes et l’aluminium est devenu le symbole de la prospérité.

1950

De nombreux jeunes entrent dans l’entreprise et vont apporter un nouveau souffle à l’usine. La MMT, qui emploie plus de 600 personnes, est désormais reconnue par tous pour la qualité et la solidité de ses fabrications. La plupart des expéditions se font par le train et une ligne arrive directement dans l’usine pour faciliter le chargement des produits.

1964

Un nouvel atelier est construit pour le département « manutention » qui fabrique des bacs, des conteneurs isothermes et des chariots pour les industries alimentaires, le commerce du poisson et pour les collectivités : c’est l’origine de Tournus Equipement. L’entreprise commence à utiliser l’acier inoxydable pour ses fabrications.

1991

Dans les années 80, la MMT a été reprise par Vivalp, puis par Terraillon. En 1991, Tournus Equipement est vendu à un actionnaire lyonnais, M. René Aldeguer, par ailleurs propriétaire des fourneaux Morice. Le développement de l’activité va être résolument orienté vers l’équipement inox pour les cuisines collectives et les lignes de selfs-service.

2010

Qualium (groupe Caisse des Dépôts) devient l’actionnaire majoritaire de Tournus Equipement. Des investissements importants et le lancement continuel de nouveaux produits positionnent aujourd’hui Tournus Equipement au 1er rang en France pour l’environnement inox des cuisines collectives et les étals de vente pour les produits de la mer.

2013

Qualium transmet Tournus Equipement à ses cadres qui s’associent à MML Capital, UI Gestion et Bpifrance (Banque Publique d’investissement). Les dirigeants détiennent la majorité du capital. Une nouvelle aventure commence pourTournus Equipement, qui conduit l’entreprise à renforcer son rôle d’acteur majeur en France et à se développer à l’international.

2016

Tournus Equipement accélère sa croissance avec l’acquisition de l’entreprise anglaise Catering Equipement Design, qui dispose d’un catalogue et d’une expertise technique et commerciale reconnus dans le domaine de la restauration rapide et de la vente à emporter ainsi que pour les buffets de distribution de repas sur mesure.